Board to meet, tournament planning

The TDGA board will meet Sunday Dec. 27 at Quail Canyon Golf Club. An agenda is here.

Ahead of that meeting, after Sunday league at Santa Cruz we will have a short stand-up meeting of a tournament committee we are assembling to finalize some dates for 2016. If you run a tournament or want to run one, stick around after league. This will be a quick organizational meeting. then we’ll meet as needed, if you can’t attend and have ideas for tourneys or want to help, send an email to

Tourney dates so far include the Membership tourney Jan. 9-10, Ice Bowl tentatively Feb. 6 at QC or a special course TBA; and Lemmon Drop tentatively June 4-5. We are looking to bring back the Tumbleweed in the summer and we’ll be hosting the State Championships Nov. 19-20. Final Ice Bowl details and registration will be posted in the next day or two. Thanks!

Taking early Sat. tee times for Bag Tag Challenge Dec. 19-20

We are now taking names for early tee times for the 2016 Bag Tag Challenge at Groves Park a week from Saturday. Because we are using the standard 9-hole/two-way B layout, which takes time, we need to space rounds out and so we will be trying to get 30-40 players through the course by noon, rest will be flex start, last card out at 3 p.m.

You can sign up for an early tee time on the event Facebook page , or send an email to

We fill up a first flight at 8:30, the rest of the earlybirds will go off when the first groups finish around 10:30. So ESPECIALLY if you want to tee off early, on the FB page, just hit going and leave a comment here as to your time preference.

Sunday’s round at Santa Cruz will be a 9 a.m. shotgun start.

TDGA at the Tucson Family Festival


Ashley and Justin teach eager kids how to putt.


Ben provides encouraging words for a young man who looks like he nailed this putt.

The Tucson Disc Golf Assn. was a popular participant in the City of Tucson’s Family Festival in the Park on Sat. Nov. 21, which including activities and exhibits from family-oriented recreation groups citywide. Flor the second year in a row, a TDGA crew set up a putting basket and a small 4-hole course, exposing hundreds of kids and adults to disc golf. Special thanks to Ben Vosper who led this effort, Justin, Ashley, Jason, Hannah and DG Hall of Famer Jeff Homberg, who came out to support, and thanks for the city and Parks and Rec for inviting us. Check out the photos and vid: Family Fest video

Congrats to new TDGA board members

Club Election results: Thanks to all who voted in the Tucson Disc Golf Association election. The votes have been tabulated and we have the following new officers:

  • Jeremy Herr, Vice President
  • Dave Shircore, Treasurer
  • Steve Miller, Amateur Representative

The results are available below.

There are a couple of important notes to this election, which due to an open nomination process had many fine nominees:

  • Steve won a clear majority for Am Rep. Jeremy won a plurality but not a majority for VP, which under our bylaws would mean a second, runoff election with the next highest vote recipient, Mike Early. Mike was consulted and decided to concede the office to focus on other vital club work.
  • Scott Honomichl won a narrow vote over Dave Shircore for treasurer, but in the end decided that with family commitments he could not devote the necessary time to the office. He also will remain a strong contributor to club events and workdays as time permits (in Beast Mode).

The club board wishes to thank all of the fine nominees, several of which declined to be on the ballot but remain steadfast contributors to our club and community.

Vote tallies (49 ballots received)

VP: Jeremy 21, Mike E 14, Bill Richardson 11, Jason Deeds 2, Daniel Stevens 1

Treasurer; Scott Honomichl, 26, Dave Shircore 23

Am Rep: Steve M, 29, Kyle 12, Utah 8

Ballots out, voting through Sun. 11/22


CLUB ELECTION: Electronic ballot links have been sent out to members emails and paper ballots will be made available to members at leagues or by request through Sunday Nov. 22.

The nominees are:
Vice President: Jason Deeds, Daniel Stevens, Jeremy Herr, Mike Early and Bill Richardson
Treasurer- David Shircore and Scott Honomichl
Amatuer Rep- Steve Miller, Kyle Unger and Utah McKellips
NOTE: If no one wins a clear majority, there will be a runoff election between the top two candidates.

UPDATED 11/14: Club elections- Balloting extended

TDGScorpLOGOBallots have been delayed pending final verification of candidates (see below). We anticipate email ballots to be sent to members no later than Monday Nov. 16. We apologize for the delay but we want to get this right. 

Because of the delay, the voting period will be extended, tentatively through Nov. 22.

CLUB ELECTION UPDATE: We are in the process of verifying candidates’ participation in the 2016 ballot and anticipate sending out ballots in the next day or two. We have quite a good group of candidates for each office, but some people were nominated for more than one office and we are sorting that out. It is a good problem to have, but bear with us. If you need to reach us regarding nominations contact VP Quentin Riddle or P Dave Wichner (

TDGA’s annual elections are approaching, for the offices of treasurer (2 yr. term), vice president (2 yr.) and amateur representative (1 yr.). The current officers have indicated they will not seek re-election.

COURSE PROS: Spaces for course pros were included in the club election nomination forms. To clarify, course pros are not elected, they are appointed by the board under the club constitution. The current board is currently reviewing all aspects of course management at all club-maintained courses and is gathering names of people interested in becoming course pro or a member of course committees. Look for more information on course management following the election.